Eleven and Gay

I didn’t come out as bisexual until the end of 9th grade (at a party, so it really was a “Coming Out Party”), and I didn’t identify as a lesbian until my senior year of high school, although I had dated girls before that.  My best friend says that she knew I was gay before I did–and considering how often we’re thinking the same thoughts, she’s probably right.

But by today’s standards (I say today like I graduated in yesteryear), not coming out until 12th grade is almost unusual.  Even when I was in high school, there were kids in years below me that had been out since middle school–I can count on one hand the amount of gay kids in my graduating class, but the class two years after me was chock-full of them.

The thing is, when I was in middle school I identified as straight, although I know other kids who didn’t, and were even dating members of the same sex as young as in 6th grade.  And for me, middle school was hell, so I can’t even imagine had I come out sooner how much harder it could have been (especially in my school, where calling someone a fag was even more common than calling them stupid).

The New York Times has a new issue out, and the front page story is Coming Out in Middle School.  It’s quite an interesting read, and it’s available online.

*Just a note: I will get back to writing about non-gay issues soon, but there has been a lot of good stuff to write about the topic lately!  Also, my readership is way up from usual!  So thanks for reading!  I love you!

One response to “Eleven and Gay

  1. You know, I knew probably from conception that I was gay, but I would never have the courage to come out at such a young age. I applaud these kids, but at the same time, I am curious if they are 100% positive or not. Only time will truly tell

Leave a Reply

